FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS:
What are the requirements to get a license?
You must meet the following criteria:
- At least 18 years old
- High school diploma or GED
- Complete and pass the Florida Real Estate Commission approved 63 hour Sales Associate Pre-licensing course
- Submit application to the Division of Real Estate and pay the appropriate fee
- Pass the state exam
How long are the classes?
The Sales Associate Pre-licensing Course is a total of 63 hours. A classroom hour is considered to be 50 minutes of instruction. Our schedules vary, but most of our classes last 3 or 4 weeks. Occasionally, we schedule classes that run for 8 weeks, in order to accommodate students with busy schedules, or who need additional time to study the material between classes.
What is the total cost to get a license?
In addition to the tuition for your pre-licensing class, there is an $89 fee for your license application payable to DBPR; a fingerprinting fee of approximately $55 payable to the fingerprinting vendor or your choice, and an exam fee of $36.75 payable to Pearson view.
Are there any other fees that need to be paid after I get my license?
If you choose to work for a traditional real estate brokerage firm, you will most likely be required to join the local Board of Realtors. This is required for all associates who work under a broker who is a member, and most brokers are members. The membership dues vary from market to market.
Other jobs in the real estate industry, such as timeshare sales, new construction sales, leasing, and referrals do not require membership in the Board of Realtors, and there are normally no additional fees required to work in one of these positions.
Call us if you have any other questions about additional fees.
Will you help me find a job?
While we cannot absolutely guarantee employment, the school’s owner is a broker who owns 20 offices in Florida. Students who are not already committed to another brokerage are offered an opportunity to interview at one or more of the broker’s offices. Many interviews do result in an offer to sign with the company. We also partner with certain developers of timeshare resorts and new home communities who are seeking newly licensed agents.
Call us if you would like additional information about employment opportunities.
I already had my fingerprints done for another profession. Do I need to do it again?
Yes. Even if you have recently been fingerprinted for another reason, even if it was in the state of Florida, you must submit a new set of fingerprints in order to obtain your real estate license.
I have a real estate license in another state. Do I still need to take the class?
Florida has mutual recognition agreements with 7 states: Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Georgia, Illinois, Mississippi, and Nebraska.
Brokers and Sales Associates can qualify for an equivalent type license in Florida if they meet the following qualifications:
- Must be 18 years of age and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent.
- Applicant must not be a resident of Florida, at time of application.
All applicants must have obtained the Real Estate license by having met the education and examination requirements of the state with which Florida has mutual recognition.
Each licensee who applies for Florida licensure from a state or jurisdiction that has a current mutual recognition agreement with Florida must pass a written Florida-specific real estate law examination. The exam consists of 40 questions of 1 point in value per question. A grade of 30 points or higher must be achieved to pass the exam.